Australian Pet Groomers
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Visitors Map

Keywords

Courses  dryer  grooming  todd  hydrobath  savel  

Setting up home business

5 posters

Go down

Setting up home business Empty Setting up home business

Post by pazu Wed Oct 17, 2012 10:26 am

Hi all,

I am a newbie to this forum, but I've been following reading up all the great stories on here.

Right now I am working 3 days as a groomer at a vet, but I am looking to set up a home business. I rent my house, but my landlord is very nice and is letting me go ahead and set it up, as long as I don't disrupt the neighbours too much.

I found out from the council recently that I would need to apply for a Development Application because I live in a Low Density Residential zone, and the customers coming and going (even if only no more than 5 customers a day) might disrupt the neighbours. The council lady on the phone does not sound too optimistic about my being approved, but I will try anyway.

Any home groomers have such troubles setting their business up? Any other comments etc would be very welcome too!

pazu

Back to top Go down

Setting up home business Empty Re: Setting up home business

Post by Chase Thu Oct 18, 2012 6:44 pm

That does not apply to my council area so I’m not sure. But what I would do is find out as much information about what makes you qualify and what does not so when you put in your application you can sort of bend a bit of what you tell them(tell them what they want to here). Another thing you can try if you have good neighbours (and will only apply if you do have good neighbours) get them to sign a petition that they don’t mind you running a business from your home. But be careful which neighbours you ask because you might be opening Pandora’s Box
Chase
Chase

Back to top Go down

Post by pazu Thu Oct 18, 2012 9:46 pm

Thanks for the reply, Chase!